Re-charting the Chart

Every week we will take a look at the top 30 Mediabase Country Chart. We will re-rank the songs on the chart based on the quality and overall enjoyment of each song. Next to each song I will provide the ranking that we would give it and the actual ranking on the Mediabase chart in parenthesis. At the end of each ranking there will be some thoughts about the current chart as well as any news or updates that are deemed important. I hope everyone enjoys this weekly post and feel free to comment/agree/disagree with anything you see.

  1. Eric Church ft Rhiannon Giddens                       Kill a Word (14)
  2. Chris Janson                                                               Holdin’ Her (26)
  3. Brad Paisley                                                                Today (15)
  4. Darius Rucker                                                             If I Told You (30)
  5. Chris Young                                                                Sober Saturday Night (11)
  6. Tim Mcgraw                                                                How I’ll Always Be (5)
  7. Chris Stapleton                                                          Parachute (17)
  8. Little Big Town                                                           Better Man (12)
  9. Carrie Underwood                                                     Dirty Laundry (2)
  10. Jon Pardi                                                                       Dirt On My Boots (18)
  11. Florida Georgia Line ft Tim Mcgraw                    May We All (6)
  12. Josh Turner                                                                  Hometown Girl (25)
  13. Luke Bryan                                                                  Fast (23)
  14. Old Dominion                                                            Song For Another Time (10)
  15. Jason Aldean                                                              Any Ol’ Barstool (28)
  16. High Valley                                                                Make You Mine (21)
  17. Blake Shelton                                                            A Guy With a Girl (4)
  18. Garth Brooks                                                             Baby, Let’s Lay Down and Dance (22)
  19. Trent Harmon                                                           There’s a Girl (27)
  20. Maren Morris                                                            80’s Mercedes (13)
  21. Brett Eldredge                                                           Wanna Be That Song (3)
  22. Keith Urban                                                                Blue Ain’t Your Color (1)
  23. Thomas Rhett                                                            Star Of The Show (7)
  24. Lauren Alaina                                                             Road Less Traveled (19)
  25. Granger Smith                                                            If The Boot Fits (9)
  26. Kelsea Ballerini                                                          Yeah Boy (24)
  27. Dierks Bentley                                                            Black (29)
  28. Dustin Lynch                                                              Seein’ Red (8)
  29. Michael Ray                                                                Think a Little Less (16)
  30. Brantley Gilbert                                                        The Weekend (20)

My goodness there are some horrible songs on this chart. The fact that the stupid “A Guy With a Girl” is as high as 17 truly speaks to the bottom half of the chart. Outside of the top 10 there really is no quality country songs at all. The bottom 3 songs are 3 of the worst songs you will ever hear. “Think a Little Less” is a douchey pickup song, “The Weekend” is Brantley’s worst song ever, it’s just bad bro country and clearly Dustin Lynch has no motivation to release a decent song. Kelsea Ballerini is what I would call Disney Glitter Pop Music. As for the top of the chart, there are some really good songs including what I think is the best song on the chart “Kill A Word.” “Holdin’ Her” is a beautiful and personal song that has plenty of steel guitar and “Today” is a song that I think I like more than most people. It is a return of Brad Paisley to quality country music but, I wouldn’t count on it lasting long when I look at some of the duets on his next album with Mick Jagger, Timbaland and Demi Lovato.

** This is the first Re-Charting the Chart that I have done. If anyone has any feedback or comments please feel free to leave them in the comment section or on twitter. Hope you enjoyed!

6 thoughts on “Re-charting the Chart

  1. Aw I like “Road Less Traveled”, Lauren Alaina sounds amazing and while the production is a little cluttered the theme of being yourself no matter what is one I definitely relate too a lot.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah, I get the people who say they like theme but I personally can’t get past the production and the fact that it’s a pop song. I basically ranked the pop songs all in the second half of my rankings. It’s a good positive message I’ll give it that.

      Like

      • I’m willing to forgive songs that sound more pop than country if for two things.

        1. The singer sounds like he or she actually cares about the song and the song is personal to them

        2. The singer is a strong enough vocalist.

        For me Lauren Alaina fits both parts and I am so excited for her sophomore album coming out January 27th.

        I’m always someone who judges solely on my opinion. Not genre lines or anything like that, no offense.

        Like

      • For this particular exercise of ranking the songs on the country chart I definitely consider genre. But, in regards to the meat of the song it’s sort of a generic message that I have heard from artists in Pop as well as country. I don’t find the lyrics inspiring and the song doesn’t make me feel anything. I do think it has a good message but so does a lot of the songs on High Valleys new album which I thought lacked meat. I think there r more enjoyable pop songs on the country chart. Just my opinion but the song isn’t for me. Also, there’s no way this song would have cracked the top 30 without it being an On the Verge pick.

        Like

      • I know that it wouldn’t have cracked the Top 30 without On The Verge. I’m thankful every day that Lauren Alaina got selected for On the verge.

        I know it’s not for you I was just offering a counterpoint of the song. I always respect other people’s opinions even if it doesn’t allign with me (like for example I don’t get the love for “Sober Saturday Night” as that song honestly bores me to tears) otherwise I’d be nothing more than a shallow fan who can’t accept criticism which just looks outright pissy at best.

        I might disagree, but my comments will always be in earnest and I mean full respect and I do love the website a bunch.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I absolutely appreciate your point of view even though I disagree. I think it’s great when we can have constructive discussions about the music. In fact, that’s a huge reason I started this blog. I personally like Sober Saturday Night lol Chris Young is one of my favorite vocal talents in the genre. The song isn’t spectacular and It could have been much better if Vince Gill had more a a role in the song. Also I appreciate the kind words!

        Like

Leave a Reply

