Re-Charting The Chart

Image result for outskirts of heaven

Every week we will take a look at the top 30 Mediabase Country Chart. We will re-rank the songs on the chart based on the quality and overall enjoyment of each song. Next to each song I will provide the ranking that we would give it and the actual ranking on the Mediabase chart in parenthesis. At the end of each ranking there will be some thoughts about the current chart as well as any news or updates that are deemed important. I hope everyone enjoys this weekly post and feel free to comment/agree/disagree with anything you see.

  1. Craig Campbell                                                         Outskirts of Heaven (29)
  2. Runaway June                                                            Lipstick (30)
  3. Eric Church ft Rhiannon Giddens                       Kill a Word (12)
  4. Chris Janson                                                               Holdin’ Her (24)
  5. Brad Paisley                                                                Today (13)
  6. Darius Rucker                                                             If I Told You (28)
  7. Chris Young                                                                Sober Saturday Night (9)
  8. Tim Mcgraw                                                                How I’ll Always Be (4)
  9. Chris Stapleton                                                          Parachute (17)
  10. Little Big Town                                                           Better Man (8)
  11. Carrie Underwood                                                     Dirty Laundry (2)
  12. Jon Pardi                                                                       Dirt On My Boots (15)
  13. Josh Turner                                                                  Hometown Girl (23)
  14. Luke Bryan                                                                  Fast (19)
  15. Old Dominion                                                             Song For Another Time (10)
  16. Jason Aldean                                                               Any Ol’ Barstool (26)
  17. High Valley                                                                 Make You Mine (20)
  18. Blake Shelton                                                             A Guy With a Girl (3)
  19. Garth Brooks                                                              Baby, Let’s Lay Down and Dance (21)
  20. Trent Harmon                                                            There’s a Girl (25)
  21. Maren Morris                                                             80’s Mercedes (13)
  22. Keith Urban                                                                Blue Ain’t Your Color (1)
  23. Thomas Rhett                                                            Star Of The Show (5)
  24. Lauren Alaina                                                             Road Less Traveled (16)
  25. Granger Smith                                                            If The Boot Fits (7)
  26. Kelsea Ballerini                                                          Yeah Boy (22)
  27. Dierks Bentley                                                            Black (27)
  28. Dustin Lynch                                                              Seein’ Red (6)
  29. Michael Ray                                                                Think a Little Less (14)
  30. Brantley Gilbert                                                        The Weekend (18)

New to the top 30

Runaway June “Lipstick” This song has been in the top 30 before and actually became the first top 30 single for a female trio in a decade. I covered them and this song in my Breakthrough Artist Predictions. I think they are great and so is this song.

Craig Campbell “Outskirts of Heaven” This song has been dragging on the charts for awhile. It doesn’t sound like this will go much further which is a shame. It is a true country song about wanting to live in a place like his home when the narrator dies (outskirts of heaven). I doubt this song will do well enough for his label to release an album but, I can hope.

Songs that left the top 30

Florida Georgia Line “May We All” Their best song since “Dirt.” Their next single includes the Backstreet Boys… insert vomit emoji.

Brett Eldredge “Wanna Be That Song” Boring, bland, non country song for middle aged women. It’s unfortunate because Brett is capable of so much more.

Quick Thoughts

I love seeing the two songs that are new to the top 30 jump all the way to the top of my chart coming in at one and two. Only 2 songs left the chart this week so overall not a ton of movement. Selfishly I almost want “Parachute” to go recurrent already so that we can get new music from Stapleton. He doesn’t need radio anyway so it shouldn’t make a difference. 

 

8 thoughts on “Re-Charting The Chart

  1. Here’s my rankings –

    1. Eric Church and Rhiannon Giddens – “Kill A Word” (9/10)
    2. Craig Campbell – “Outskirts Of Heaven” (8/10)
    3. Tim McGraw – “How I’ll Always Be” (7/10)
    4. Chris Stapleton – “Parachute” (7/10)
    5. High Valley – “Make You Mine” (7/10)
    6. Brad Paisley – “Today” (7/10)
    7. Josh Turner – “Hometown Girl” (7/10)
    8. Chris Janson – “Holdin’ Her” (7/10)
    9. Runaway June – “Lipstick” (7/10)
    10. Chris Young and Vince Gill – “Sober Saturday Night” (6/10)
    11. Thomas Rhett – “Star Of The Show” (6/10) (No I’m not kidding)
    12. Jason Aldean – “Any Ol’ Barstool” (6/10)
    13. Luke Bryan – “Fast” (6/10)
    14. Maren Morris – “80’s Mercedes” (6/10)
    15. Dierks Bentley – “Black” (6/10)
    16. Carrie Underwood – “Dirty Laundry” (5/10)
    17. Darius Rucker – “If I Told You” (5/10)
    18. Little Big Town – “Better Man” (5/10)
    19. Garth Brooks – “Baby Let’s Down and Dance” (5/10)
    20. Trent Harmon – “There’s A Girl” (5/10)
    21. Lauren Alaina – “Road Less Traveled” (4/10)
    22. Blake Shelton – “A Guy With A Girl” (4/10)
    23. Keith Urban – “Blue Ain’t Your Color” (4/10)
    24. Kelsea Ballerini – “Yeah Boy” (4/10)
    25. Jon Pardi – “Dirt On My Boots” (3/10)
    26. Old Dominion – “Song For Another Time” (3/10)
    27. Dustin Lynch – “Seein’ Red” (3/10)
    28. Granger Smith – “If The Boot Fits” (3/10)
    29. Michael Ray – “Think A Little Less” (3/10)
    30. Brantley Gilbert – “The Weekend” (2/10)

    I like this feature btw!

    Like

    • O wow we disagree a ton on the ranking of these songs. I personally find Star of the show to b boring, slobbering over his wife which he does constantly in his songs. We also disagree on Song for another time and dirt on my boots. I don’t think either of them r bad songs just not great. And thanks btw. After last week I was having doubts about whether or not this was a good idea so I’m glad to see people like it! And I was thinking about including a grade with every song like you did I think next week I will start doing that.

      Like

      • Our rankings are a bit different but I still think most of our general thoughts line up, not that there’s anything wrong with disagreement though!

        Lyrically, “Star Of The Show” is definitely boring, I can definitely agree with it. I do like the overall more liquid, spacious sound it’s going for though, and there’s at least an alright melody to this. It’s progress for Rhett I suppose.

        “Song For Another Time” has a good idea to it, but it feels more mismatched and focused just purely on getting as many references as they can in the song more so than making something that’s cohesive. It’s their best single so far sadly…I’ll give them that lol.

        “Dirt On My Boots” is just one of those songs where I can’t stand it lyrically on a personal level. I’m never a fan of the whole “I’m so country, girl” shtick, and while the fiddle is nice and all, it doesn’t redeem it for me really. Actually it’s the crunchy guitar solo that I find most appealing about it. I like Pardi, just not that song.

        Those are just my thoughts though so take them as you will 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Here’s my rankings

    1. Lauren Alaina Road Less Traveled 10/10
    2. Runaway June Lipstick 10/10
    3. Eric Church & Rhiannon Giddens Kill A Word 9/10
    4. Little Big Town Better Man 9/10
    5. Brad Paisley Today 8/10
    6. Darius Rucker If I Told You 8/10
    7. Craig Campbell Outskirts Of Heaven 8/10
    8. Old Dominion Song For Another Time (guilty pleasure) 8/10
    9. Tim McGraw How I’ll Always Be 8/10
    10. Trent Harmon There’s A Girl 7/10
    11. Chris Stapleton Parachute 7/10
    12. Chris Janson Holdin Her 7/10
    13. High Valley Make You Mine 7/10
    14. Maren Morris 80’s Mercedes 7/10
    15. Blake Shelton A Guy With A Girl 6/10
    16. Thomas Rhett Star Of The Show 6/10
    17. Carrie Underwood Dirty Laundry 5/10
    18. Dierks Bentley Black 5/10
    19. Jon Pardi Dirt On My Boots 5/10
    20. Luke Bryan Fast 5/10
    21. Jason Aldean Any Ole Barstool 5/10
    22. Kelsea Ballerini Yeah Boy 4/10
    23. Chris Young Sober Saturday Night 4/10
    24. Josh Turner Hometown Girl 4/10 (sorry 23 bores me and 24 is also way too boring for me)
    25. Dustin Lynch Seein Red 3/10
    26. Granger Smith If The Boot Fits 2/10
    27. Keith Urban Blue Ain’t Your Color 2/10
    28. Garth Brooks Baby Lets Lay Down And Dance 1/10
    29. Brantley Gilbert The Weekend 1/10
    30. Michael Ray Think A Little Less 0/10

    Wow I have 16 songs with at least a positive score. I know there’s a lot of disagreement with this ranking but oh well.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hey there’s no problem with disagreement! I agree with u about Hometown Girl being boring and I’m a huge Turner fan. I think 4/10 is real generous for Yeah Boy which i would give a 0/10. Overall we have some difference in opinion but for the most part I don’t think our rankings r too different

      Like

      • What saves “Yeah Boy” for me is Kelsea Ballerini being a decent enough vocalist and the song having a fairly good melody in the chorus. It’s at the very least catchy to me so I’ll give it somr leeway there.

        However Kelsea Ballerini is female bro country at its worse. “Peter Pan” is the only single of hers I like at least that sounded country (some good solid guitar play and although there was no fiddle or steel guitar the melody sounded faurly country to me) and had a decent amount of maturity.

        I will admit “Love Me Like You Mean It” is a guilty pleasure but “Dibs” is what made me sour on her very quickly and I usually love female artists as my Top 2 are by female artists that I love dearly. But female singers like Kelsea Ballerini and Clare Dunn represent the worse that female artists are capable of doing..

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Next week I will start putting my score for each song so I will see if the chart get a positive or negative score

    Like

    • I will say my grading has always differed from other country critics – I almost never give a 10 (not saying I never do, it’s just VERY rare) and I’ve never really given anything below a 2/10. Old Dominion’s ‘Meat and Candy’ album was probably the first album I considered for a 1/10 but they’ve at least got a knack for decent melodies lol. So while our grades might be different, I think a lot of our thoughts line up.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

