The Grammy’s Country Edition

Image result for sturgill simpson

The Grammy awards are already upon us and will be broadcast on Sunday night at 8pm on CBS with late night host James Corden. This post will take a look at each category that is relevant to the country genre while making predictions and wishes. For each category I will bold my prediction for who will win. Enjoy!

Best Country Album Nominees: Maren Morris, Hero; Big Day In a Small Town, Brandy Clark; Full Circle, Loretta Lynn; A Sailors Guide To Earth, Sturgill Simpson; Ripcord, Keith Urban

Thoughts: Bravo to the Grammy’s for including three women in this category. Hero and Maren Morris in general have had a monster year and although I wouldn’t call her album country I thought there was some great material here. In the case of Sturgill Simpson, he is also nominated for overall album of the year in addition to country album of the year. If I were to make a pick for who deserves it the most I would go with Big Day In a Small Town by Brandy Clark. With the exception of the albums lead single Girl Next Door, this was a terrific Country album that does a great job at giving an honest look into small town life.

Best Country Song Nominees: “My Church,” Maren Morris and Busbee, “Die A Happy Man,” Thomas Rhett, Sean Douglas and Joe Spargur, “Vice,” Miranda Lambert, Shane McAnally and Josh Osbourne, “Humble and Kind,” Lorrie McKenna, “Blue Ain’t Your Color,” Clint Lagerburg, Hillary Lindsey and Steven Lee Olsen

Thoughts: I really think that this category is between “Humble and Kind,” and “Die A Happy Man.” I really have become sick and tired of the boring Thomas Rhett songs where he drools over how attractive his wife is for 3 minutes while ripping off another artist’s song. “Humble and Kind” is a solid song with a great message. Also, it has only one songwriter which is nice to see.

Best Country Solo Performance: “Love Can Go To Hell,” Brandy Clark; “My Church,” Maren Morris; “Vice,” Miranda Lambert; “Blue Ain’t Your Color,” Keith Urban; “Church Bells,” Carrie Underwood

Thoughts: Another heavy female category with only one male nominee. I would love to see Brandy Clark walk away with this award but, I think this is going to be a big night for Maren Morris. “My Church” is a very good song though and Maren Morris is fun to watch perform so it’s not a total loss.

Best Country Duo or Group Performance: “Setting The World On Fire,” Kenny Chesney and Pink; “Jolene,” Pentatonix and Dolly Parton; “Think Of You,” Chris Young and Cassadee Pope; “Different For Girls,” Dierks Bentley and Elle King; “21 Summer,” Brothers Osbourne

Thoughts: If “Setting The World On Fire” wins I will set myself on fire. This is a brutal category this year but, I would like to see the CMA duo of the year Brothers Osbourne take this one. Unfortunately, I expect it to go to the boring, misogynistic song with the 2 pop singers “Different For Girls.”

Overall Album Of The Year: Purpose, Justin Bieber; 25, Adele; Lemonade, Beyonce; Views, Drake; A Sailors Guide To Earth, Sturgill Simpson

Thoughts: This category is an absolute behemoth of star power. My prediction may appear ridiculous and shocking to you but, hear me out. With all the massive star power in this category is it not likely that they will split the vote? Don’t you think a lot of votes will go to Adele and Beyonce? Both of those albums received massive international critical praise. Even Bieber and Drake are monster international stars who are likely to get some votes. That’s where Sturgill is able to pull off one of the biggest awards show upsets in music history taking home album of the year. He absolutely deserves to win this and after he does I predict his album will shoot to all genre number 1! MARK THE TAPE

Best New Artist: Maren Morris, Kelsea Ballerini, The Chainsmokers, Chance The Rapper, Anderson. Paak

Thoughts: Is it wrong that I have no fricken clue who Anderson Paak is? Regardless, I don’t see Disney Glitter Ballerini getting this award nor do I see it going to Maren Morris. My prediction will go to The Chainsmokers although it would be cool to see Maren Morris win.

Also nominated for an award is Willie Nelson for best traditional pop vocal album.

As you can see I expect this to be a huge night for Maren Morris and Sturgill Simpson. This will be a great night for the women of country regardless of the results just based on the number of nominations they received. Good luck to the country nominees and congratulations to Sturgill Simpson who is sure to win the award for overall album of the year since I said he will!.. or maybe I jinxed him, we’ll see.

Leave a Reply

