My Grammy Reaction

Image result for maren morris grammys

Last night the 59th Grammy Awards were broadcast on CBS. Usually I do not watch the Grammy’s because I do not care for most of the performers and even the country performers aren’t actually country performers. Last night was different however with Sturgill Simpson being nominated for country album of the year and overall album of the year and the fact that he had a solo performance. Before the Grammy’s even kicked off we learned that Sturgill had won country album of the year which in hindsight should not have been a shock. Despite being tired as hell last night I persevered through the boring show that seemed to never end because I could not miss Sturgill possibly win album of the year over Adele and Beyonce.  Despite my prediction and wishes he lost out on the award after Adele won album of the year for 25. Needless to say I was rather pissed off even if I wasn’t surprised. As for his performance what can I say? Sturgill is an excellent performer and other people must have thought so too since his album is currently number 1 on Itunes Country Chart.

Other “country” performances last night included Maren Morris with Alicia Keys singing her new single “Once,” Kelsea Ballerini doing a mashup with Lukas Graham, Keith Urban singing his new “song” “The Fighter” with Carrie Underwood and Little Big Town honoring the Bee Gees. Maren Morris and Alicia Keys did pretty well and I like “Once” as a song even though it’s not country. Kelsea Ballerini was dreadful. This isn’t just me hating on the Disney glitter pop singer she just can’t sing particularly well and her songs are embarrassingly stupid. Also, the mashup was very clumsy, it just didn’t work on any level. Keith Urban’s new single is his worst single he has ever released and he should be ashamed of himself. Others have mentioned and I agree that it sounds like a bad 80’s pop song. Finally, the guys from Little Big Town actually sang short solo’s and were pretty good I might add.

As for other notable awards Maren Morris won country solo performance of the year for “My Church,” “Humble and Kind” won best country song, best country duo performance went to Dolly Parton and Penatonix for their CMA rendition of “Jolene.” Maren Morris and Kelsea Ballerini were both nominated for best new artist but lost to Chance the Rapper who had a monster night and great performance.

Some other country names that were at the show included Thomas Rhett who presented an award, Dwight Yoakam who introduced Sturgill Simpson and Tim Mcgraw and Faith Hill who presented the album of the year and record of the year to Adele.

Here is a link to my predictions prior to the Grammy’s so that you can laugh at me. Also this  is a link to my Twitter page where I live tweeted the awards show.

Leave a Reply

