Community Writing Piece

Hello everyone and welcome to Critically Countries first Community Writing Piece! This is a feature that I would like to do once a month on the blog. This is a chance for you the reader to send me a piece of writing that you would like to share so that the other readers can see what you have written and we can have an open discussion about the pieces of work. There were no rules essentially for this piece. In this first edition we received 2 submissions not including my own submission. Please feel free to comment with thoughts/opinions about the work that is displayed in this piece and a special thank you to the people who submitted something.

  • This poem was written by a commenter on the blog Country Opinion Blog. I believe his name is Robert but since I am not positive I don’t want to say for sure.

“I’m just a prisoner in my own mind-
Bars filled with memories; walls built by time.
No way to escape; my phone is a cell.
Alone with my demons; my own private hell.

I’m just a stranger in my own life.
Taking up space, and trying to kill time.
Alone as a king, ruling no one at all
The throne where I think; dreams struggle and fall

She stomps on my heart as I walk through my mind,
Now nobody’s here. Nobody comes by.
Not even me. I left long ago.
Just a broken old body hosting a broken down ghost.

I’m just a prisoner in my own mind.
Condemned to the persistent damn ticking of time.
Alone to see and feel the end drawing nearer.
“Is that good or bad ?” I ask the man in the mirror.”

 

  • This was written by Leon over at Country Music Minds

Ike & Matthew

 

“A story of two arch-rivals that came together through music”

 

 

“Hey Ike, saw your latest blog post on Florida Georgia Line. You know they’re always going to be more successful and better than you, right?” Matthew exclaimed as he sat next to Ike in their Philosophy class. “I know, I’m not denying their success. It doesn’t mean their music is good, nor does it mean I like it” Ike shot back.

“You know Ike, you spend so much of your time bashing artists you don’t even like, and when it comes to one of your shitty independent, old-timey acts you like, you shower them with endless praise. You really like being a hipster?”. Ike replied, “I’m not a hipster, I just have good taste in music. You’re going to call my taste shitty whenever you like mild, fake country bullshit that won’t be remembered in five years?”

Matthew replied, “Yeah, because I’LL remember it, and it’s certainly more fun and interesting than the sad depressing bullshit you like”. Ike scoffed and stated that “what’s the point in arguing once more Matt? We don’t agree with each other’s tastes. We never have and we never will”. “Ha, you’re damn right about one thing at least, Ike” Matthew fired as he turned away from Matt.

After class, the two went their seperate ways as they always had. Both could be often be found strolling through campus with a pair of headphones in, drowning away any of the bullshit that life brought onto them through music. It was a shame that they could never connect in that way, at least up until that point since…

Matthew lost all track of time before his next class that he raced to get to the next building. It wasn’t a huge deal if he was late, but still, he didn’t like it. As he rounded the corner, he literally bumped into Ike who was walking, staring down at his phone with his headphones in paying the same amount of attention as Matt was. When the two collided, Ike dropped his phone. Thankfully it fell on the grass, so nothing was hurt. Matt stated that he was sorry and proceeded to pick up Ike’s phone for him. What he found was something extremely peculiar.

“You were listening to Luke Bryan’s “We Rode In Trucks”?” Matt said surprisingly. Ike’s face grew red as he stammered, “give it back!” Matt kept the phone out of Ike’s reach, noticing that he had also recently played songs such as Jason Aldean’s “The Truth”, and Tim McGraw’s “How I’ll Always Be”. The next one would truly surprise him though, as it was Florida Georgia Line’s “Cruise”, a song Ike had been noted to absolutely despise with every fiber of his being.

Ike, looking embarassed as ever snatched the phone out of Matt’s hand, fuming about how he didn’t really like these artists, he just needed to hear how shitty mainstream artists were in order to confirm how right he was about the artists he liked. Matt saw through the facade however, and proceeded to show Ike some of the artists HE had been listening too just moments ago, acts that included Cody Johnson, Aaron Watson, and even Cody Jinks’ “Chase That Song”. Both men couldn’t believe it – they each liked some of the artists that, in public, they claimed to despise.

Ike let down his guard and admitted, “some of these songs are songs I heard during my childhood, and even shaped my childhood. I can’t truthfully say I hate them. As for the more modern ones….what can I say? Sometimes I just need something different. I still think the independent side is better but there’s some stuff I like on the other side as well”. Matt admitted that he liked what guys such as Aaron and Johnson were doing – making modern traditional music he could get into. For Jinks, he stated that his stuff was still a little boring for him, but that “Chase That Song” – “was a jam”.

As the two men shared their secrets, they both admitted other things as well. “I’ll be honest, I’ve overhyped a lot of the independent acts I’ve covered. Some of them are even worse than some stuff I’ve heard on the radio” Ike said with a chuckle. Matt also admitted that his taste in music isn’t the smartest. “I mean, who’s actually got a body like a back road”? Matt also humorusoily proclaimed.

“You know, it’s good to talk this out” Ike said. “Normally we just try to tell each other how right we are and how wrong the other is, but discussing this…it’s good. Helps to give new perspectives.” Matt agreed.

The two men had been too stubborn by bickering over their differences that they never took the time to see what they had in common, probably because they didn’t think they had anything in common anyway. Both had been pissed off to such a large degree by the other that they would never publically let their guard down, instead choosing to operate machines and give their usual talk as always. In that moment though, they found something in common – a passion for music that’s shaped through life. Experiences, memories, moods, what have you. By God, the two men discovered they’re both humans. What a frightening discovery.

  • This is a satirical letter written by Alex (Just meant to be humurous not offensive)

Breakup Letter Written to a Mainstream Country Fan

Hey girl. Hopefully you have time to read this, you can read right? Anyway I think it’s best that I just come right out and say it, it’s over. I’ll never forget the good times we had kickin’ it in the sticks listening to some classic Brantley Gilbert. The time we both got barbed wire tattoos around our foreheads will forever be ingrained in my head…literally. But, the time has come for us to go our separate ways. You see, I have discovered that there is more to life than getting wasted at Luke Bryan concerts and spending all day on the couch watching The Jerry Springer Show… and being on the Jerry Springer show that one time. You see, it all changed when I listened to a Turnpike Troubadours song last month. It started a chain reaction that found me listening to all kinds of artists that don’t just sing songs about drinking and humping. One day last week I noticed that my head had grown larger and I had an awful headache. The doc actually told me that my brain was beginning to grow to the size of a real human. He said listening to Luke Bryan and Florida Georgia Line all those years actually was destroying my brain. I nearly ran out of brain cells before I started listening to real music. In just a month I have taught myself to read AND write! Anyway, I just wanted to say you will always hold a special place in my heart. I’ll make sure to point you out to my future children on whatever episodes of Cops you wind up on.

-Have a great life

PS you can keep all my Backstreet Boys Tshirts. I want it that way.

PPS Its not cool that you keep stealing money from my bank account to buy cold medicine. Don’t think I don’t know what your doing.

3 thoughts on “Community Writing Piece

  1. This is awesome!! Especially loved Leon’s story and your satirical letter. The satirical letter was especially relatable since I have dated some guys with terrible taste in country music. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Community Writing Piece (April) | Critically Country

Leave a Reply

