Sunday Morning Time Capsule

Image result for we are never getting back together

Hello all! Welcome to the new feature Sunday Morning Time Capsule which will be a weekly feature here at Critically Country. In this feature I will do a throwback spotlight on a song, album or subject. I say spotlight instead of review because I won’t be giving grades for this feature just discussing the piece of work. Nostalgia can be a powerful thing so hopefully you all enjoy this piece as much as I do. I am happy to take requests for the Time Capsule if you have any so speak up if you do.

Last week the Sunday Morning Time Capsule took us back to 1993 for Reba and Linda Davis’ duet “Does He Love You”. This week we jump forward 19 years to 2012 for Taylor Swift’s hit song “We Are Never Ever Getting Back Together.” This song was the lead single to Swift’s fourth album Red and peaked at number 13 on the country airplay chart. Now there’s a couple of reasons that I picked this song. Number one is that this was a song that really ended any illusion that Taylor Swift was any longer a country artist and as it turned out it would also be her last lead single pushed to country radio. This brings me to the more important reason that I chose this song and that is that with this album and officially in Taylor’s next album 1989, Swift made the full transition to pop. It was clear that despite her label Big Machine’s wishes, Swift no longer wanted to pretend to make country music and release albums that were a hodgepodge of genre’s. Swift called it “picking a lane” and not only did it work out great for her career but, she did true country fans of favor by not pedaling her music to country radio any longer.

Now let me say right up front i’m not a Taylor Swift hater like a lot of country bloggers. I actually loved Swifts first couple albums growing up. Say what you want about her but, her early songs were loaded with fiddle, banjo and steel guitar. I enjoyed the ride and was sad to see her go to pop but, it’s clear that’s where she was headed regardless of what it was labeled. She deserves a lot of credit for being honest and picking a lane in regards to genre. There’s plenty of “country” artist’s that could learn a thing or two from Taylor Swift.

3 thoughts on “Sunday Morning Time Capsule

  1. I absolutely adored Taylor Swift’s first album. It was a great album, and it was actually country. Teardrops on My Guitar is my all-time favorite song of hers.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I love “White Horse” and “Tim McGraw.” Even a later song of hers like “Back To December” was good. Unfortunately with every album she got farther away from country which is what happens to most artists.

      Like

  2. I’m not a Taylor hater, but I don’t happen to own any of her music. Liz Rose deserves a tremendous amount of credit for helping Taylor’s early career in country. I will add that Taylor is always one of the best for helping with charity efforts. The education center at the CMHOF bears her name. When a tornado hit my town several years ago, Taylor quietly cut a large check to aid recovery efforts.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

