Re-Charting The Chart

Every week we will take a look at the top 30 Mediabase Country Chart. We will re-rank the songs on the chart based on the quality and overall enjoyment of each song. Next to each song I will provide the ranking that we would give it and the actual ranking on the Mediabase chart in parenthesis (From America’s Music Charts). Songs that are in the color red are songs that are either recurrent or in danger of going recurrent soon, while blue is for songs that I predict will go to number 1 at some point. At the end of each ranking there will be some thoughts about the current chart as well as any news or updates that are deemed important. I hope everyone enjoys this weekly post and feel free to comment/agree/disagree with anything you see.

  1. Zac Brown Band “My Old Man” (21) A
  2. Midland “Drinkin’ Problem” (30) A-
  3. Eric Church ft. Rhiannon Giddens “Kill A Word” (22) A-
  4. Craig Campbell “Outskirts of Heaven” (26) B+
  5. Raelynn “Love Triangle” (29) B+
  6. Miranda Lambert “We Should Be Friends” (28) B
  7. Darius Rucker “If I Told You” (15) B
  8. Dan and Shay “How Not To” (14) 
  9. Josh Turner “Hometown Girl” (7) C+
  10. Jon Pardi “Dirt On My Boots” (4) C+
  11. Luke Bryan “Fast” (1) C+
  12. Jason Aldean “Any Ol’ Barstool” (3) C
  13. Luke Combs “Hurricane” (11) C
  14. Kenny Chesney “Bar At The End of the World” (12) C
  15. Trent Harmon “There’s a Girl” (16) C
  16. Lauren Alaina “Road Less Traveled” (2) C
  17. Justin Moore “Somebody Else Will” (24) C-
  18. Blake Shelton “Every Time I Hear That Song” (27) C-
  19. Rascal Flatts “Yours If You Want It” (17) C-
  20. Brett Young “In Case You Didn’t Know” (13) C-
  21. Cole Swindell “Flatliner” (25) D
  22. Dylan Scott “My Girl” (20) D
  23. Keith Urban “The Fighter” (18) F
  24. Kelsea Ballerini “Yeah Boy” (6) F
  25. Dierks Bentley “Black” (10) F
  26. Michael Ray “Think a Little Less” (8) F
  27. Lady Antebellum “You Look Good” (19) F
  28. Brantley Gilbert “The Weekend” (9) F
  29. Florida Georgia Line “Boy Band’s Are Lit” (23) F
  30. Sam Hunt “Body Like a Backroad” (5) F

New To The Top 30: “Drinkin’ Problem.” YES! These guys are the real deal. If you haven’t heard their debut ep what are you doing with your life? This is a fantastic song and by far the most traditional group on the radio and it’s not even close.

Songs That Left The Top 30: “Today.” Brad’s next single is “Last Time For Everything” and the new album will be out on April 24th unless they delay it for the 40th time.

Songs In Danger Of Going Recurrent: “We Should Be Friends” is done. The new single is the fantastic “Tin Man” which Miranda performed at the ACM Awards.

“Kill a Word” next single is “Round Here Buzz” and no surprise it’s another good single for Eric Church.

“Outskirts of Heaven”

“There’s a Girl”

“Think a Little Less”

“Dirt on my Boots”

“Fast”

4 thoughts on “Re-Charting The Chart

  1. Hell yes!!! 🙂 Midland is in the top 30 this week! I am so excited, as I absolutely love Drinkin’ Problem. In my opinion, it is by far the best song in the top 30. Their entire EP is amazing and the video for Drinkin’ Problem is awesome! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I sure hope so! I can’t get enough of the EP as it is. I hope the song at least makes the top 10. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. “Tin Man” is excellent, but radio won’t play it. I hope they prove me wrong, and it becomes another “The House That Built Me” moment. But that was 2010, and radio was much more tolerant of substance even back then. IN other news, I know people are about to hate me, but I have not listened to the Midland EP. I like the song, but it’s not fantastic. Definitely promising though, and equally definitely traditional.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

