Community Writing Piece (April)

Hello everyone and welcome to the second community writing feature. I want to give a special thanks to the people that contributed this month. Please feel free to comment with thoughts/opinions about the work that is displayed. Click here to see last months piece. Enjoy!

Hey Warren by Julian Spivey

You died on my birthday, but I didn’t know you yet

I had heard you howl, but there was so much more to get

And you spoke right to me with your humor and your style

Another excitable boy out here in the wild

Desperadoes often die too young, you proved it to be true

 You’ll always be in my heart and I’ll enjoy every sandwich too

Scarlett by Megan Bledsoe (Country Exclusive) 

Verse 1:
Women never cared for Scarlett.
Word around the county was
That Katie Scarlett’s a common whore.
The men always did love Scarlett.
They’d come from miles around
Just to sit and talk there on her porch.

Chorus:
I’m a little like Scarlett,
And if you read her book,
You’ll see there’s good inside her if you’re willin’ to look.
I’m a little like Scarlett,
She never knew what she had,
And there’s good down deep inside me, it’s just buried under all the bad.

Verse 2:
The war came, it didn’t faze Scarlett.
She always knew the South would win,
And she’d rather talk about her clothes.
But she loved the South, did Scarlett.
She shot a Yankee dead
Just to save the only home she’d known.

Chorus:
I’m a little like Scarlett.
As you read her book,
You’ll see there’s good inside her if you’re willin’ to look.
I’m a little like Scarlett.
She always fought for what she had,
And there’s good down deep inside me, it’s just buried under all the bad.

Verse 3:
Marriage never meant much to Scarlett,
Though she had three in her time.
She took one for fun and two for spite.
Children never came easy for Scarlett,
And though she loved all three,
She never could quite get it right.

Chorus:
I’m a little like Scarlett,
And if you read her book,
You’ll see there’s good inside her if you’re willin’ to look.
I’m a little like Scarlett.
She never knew what she had,
And there’s good down deep inside me, it’s just buried under all the bad.

Verse 4:
Love finally came to Scarlett.
She was just too blind to see
‘Til it walked out on her late one night.
I don’t wanna be like Scarlett,
Always drivin’ love away.
She never knew when it was right.
Oh, Lord, please help me know when it’s right.

Bro Country Satire by Robert (Roberts Country Opinion Blog)

“Bro ain’t dead… Nah, Bro be illin’
Up on ya grrrl, on my tailgate chillin’…
Six pack o’ Nati Light
Moon so bright,
Hank and Drake outta sight killin’

Up. Down. Downtown.
Left side. Right side. All night. Yeah.
Grrrl, git up in my truck, get drunk, get stuck
Woooo-Whooa-oaoaoa !

Holy, holy, holy ! Dirt roads and Backstreets.
Drink it up ! Crank it up ! Hank it up! Sweet !
Blake it up ! Drake it up ! Rap it up ! Slap it up !
Whooooa-oooa-ooooo ooo ooa.

Curves like a dirt road,
No stop sign in sight.
Bro’s on the radio,
So all green lights.
Whooooa-oooa-ooooo ooo ooa

Uh !

Bro ain’t dead… Nah, Bro be illin’
All up on ya grrrl, on my tailgate chillin’”

 

Someday by The Wide World of Country 

Seems like there’s no relief
From the hurt that leaves me in disbelief
Times like these rain till it pours
Wonder if well ever win the wars

Bridge
I don’t know what the future holds
Seems like something worse always unfolds

Chorus
I want to make it to the other side
The golden years here on earth
I got my doubts about up above
The man upstairs don’t give no love
Maybe someday I’ll understand…someday

I got to keep going try to find
The sounds of something better in my mind
Push on to the future for better or for worse
Hope my life don’t put me in a herse

Bridge
I don’t know what the future holds
Seems like something worse always unfolds

Chorus
I want to make it to the other side
The golden years here on earth
I got my doubts about up above
The man upstairs don’t give no love
Maybe someday I’ll understand…someday

5 thoughts on “Community Writing Piece (April)

  1. Lol Robert…this sounds like his version of Angaleena Presley’s “Country.” Nice writing here by all.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I’m pretty sure Robert paraphrased like 5 songs that have been on the radio recently lol. Really incredible songwriting guys, wish I could write lyrics like that. And interesting poem by Julian I’m just confused by the last line.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m sad that I didn’t have the time to contribute to this, but thankfully May looks a lot better! Nice writing here by all.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

