Re-Charting The Chart

Every week we will take a look at the top 30 Mediabase Country Chart. We will re-rank the songs on the chart based on the quality and overall enjoyment of each song. Next to each song I will provide the ranking that we would give it and the actual ranking on the Mediabase chart in parenthesis (From America’s Music Charts). Songs that are in the color red are songs that are either recurrent or in danger of going recurrent soon, while blue is for songs that I predict will go to number 1 at some point. At the end of each ranking there will be some thoughts about the current chart as well as any news or updates that are deemed important. I hope everyone enjoys this weekly post and feel free to comment/agree/disagree with anything you see.

  1. Zac Brown Band “My Old Man” (21) A
  2. Midland “Drinkin’ Problem” (24) A-
  3. Raelynn “Love Triangle” (28) B+
  4. Old Dominion “No Such Thing As a Broken Heart” (29) B
  5. Brothers Osborne “It Ain’t My Fault” (27) B
  6. Darius Rucker “If I Told You” (11) B
  7. Dan and Shay “How Not To” (9) 
  8. Josh Turner “Hometown Girl” (1) C+
  9. Jason Aldean “Any Ol’ Barstool” (4) C
  10. Luke Combs “Hurricane” (3) C
  11. Kenny Chesney “Bar At The End of the World” (10) C
  12. Trent Harmon “There’s a Girl” (18) C
  13. Lauren Alaina “Road Less Traveled” (14) C
  14. Justin Moore “Somebody Else Will” (22) C-
  15. Tim Mcgraw & Faith Hill “Speak to a Girl” (25) C-
  16. Billy Currington “Do I Make You Wanna” (30) C-
  17. Blake Shelton “Every Time I Hear That Song” (19) C-
  18. Rascal Flatts “Yours If You Want It” (12) C-
  19. Brett Young “In Case You Didn’t Know” (7) C-
  20. Cole Swindell & Sellout “Flatliner” (20) D
  21. Dylan Scott “My Girl” (17) D
  22. Thomas Rhett & Maren Morris  “Craving You”  (23) D- 
  23. Keith Urban & Carrie Underwood “The Fighter” (13) F
  24. Kelsea Ballerini “Yeah Boy” (5) F
  25. Dierks Bentley “Black” (6) F
  26. Lady Antebellum “You Look Good” (15) F
  27. Chris Lane “For Her” (26) F
  28. Brantley Gilbert “The Weekend” (8) F
  29. Florida Georgia Line “Boy Band’s Are Lit” (16) F
  30. Sam Hunt “Body Like a Backroad” (2) F

New To The Top 30: “Do I Make You Wanna”

Songs That Left The Top 30: “Fast.” Can we all take a moment and appreciate that for at least 1 week there is no Luke Bryan on the chart?

Songs In Danger Of Going Recurrent:  “Hometown Girl.” Congratulations to Josh Turner on his first number one hit in nearly 7 years. Not my favorite Josh Turner song but it’s great to see him have radio success after it appeared his radio days were numbered.

“There’s a Girl” refuses to die. It’s going to peak soon, perhaps they can stretch it to top 10 but that’s it.

“Any Ol’ Barstool”

“Road Less Traveled”

“Body Like a Backroad.”

6 thoughts on “Re-Charting The Chart

  1. NO way “Black” is worse than “craving You” but that is just me 🙂 noticing we have a lot of C’s, and I’d somewhat agree with you…I’ve noticed I’ve ripped a lot less music in 2017. It’s like there’s actually less atrocious music coming out, just way more boring/bland/sleepy/forgettable/lifeless crap that you can’t remember, let alone review.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m harsh on Dierks I’ll admit it but Black is dreadful, the whole album. I really hope he comes back to good music with his next album but we’ll see. And yeah that’s my biggest criticism rn of mainstream country, it’s boring as hell. It can’t keep my attention at all

      Liked by 1 person

      • The problem with “Black” is that he’s just not pulling it off, and he can do this, see “Sweet and Wild,” “I Wanna Make You Close Your Eyes, Come a Little Closer,” even to a much lesser and subtle extent, “Up on the Ridge.” Really he is one of the most disappointing sellouts in mainstream country. It grieves me when people like Brad and Blake and Dierks, who are capable of and have made great music, start destroying their legacies with this shit. That may have given me a post idea. In Brad’s case, I’m glad his new album seems to be a return to form overall for him. Oh, and add Keith Urban to this list too, he made a nice amount of quality pop country prior to American Idol and “Little Bit of Everything.”

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Congratulations to Josh Turner! Hometown Girl is not his best but not bad. Unfortunately, I would count Love Triangle as going recurrent as well. A damn shame, because I love that song. But on the bright side, won’t it be nice to see a chart without Sam Hunt? 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah I was hesitant to include “Love Triangle” after it left the top 30 and then reentered a few weeks ago. This will b the last time she’s ever this high on my chart. And a chart without Sam Hunt would b heavenly 🙂

      Like

  3. *once Body Like a Back Road goes recurrent.

    Like

Leave a Reply

