Where Ya Been?

So for those of you that read the blog regularly you may have noticed the posts have been a little light lately. In fact, I haven’t made a post since last Wednesday which is why I wanted to do a short little post to talk about what is happening with the blog going forward. The last few weeks of my life have been rather hectic and stressful therefore, I just haven’t had the time to listen to and review as much music as I would like to. I put a lot of pressure on myself to review as many albums as I can and with so many albums coming out the last few weeks I felt a bit overwhelmed. There’s some great albums that were released in the last few weeks and I absolutely will talk about them all but in a different format than my standard album reviews. The other reason I haven’t posted in almost a week was because I wanted to take a step back and assess the blog. I started this blog 5 months ago now and I’m happy with the foundation that has been built here. I am really grateful for the people that read and contribute to the blog and I have enjoyed the conversations that have arisen because of the blog.

With that being said though I should mention some thoughts that I had during my assessment of the blog. One thought was that I need to be less worried about what a piece or review needs to be. There are some great country blogs currently around and blogs that have been around in the past but just because they do or have done things a certain way doesn’t mean I need to be bound by those restrictions. An example that I would give is length to pieces. A number of times I have had ideas for pieces but scrapped them when I only had a couple paragraphs of thoughts on it. The other thing would be format.

I want to experiment and try new things with the blog. One of the things that I tried that I didn’t really think worked was the Sunday Morning Time Capsule. I do think that pieces like the collaborations that I did with Megan and Leon and the collaborative writing piece have been a success. I really enjoy doing those monthly pieces and I think they are unique and interesting which is something that I want this blog to be. I want to take what is unique/interesting and build around that while getting rid of the fat. Re-Charting The Chart is a feature that I still am not sure about and part of that reason you can see below.

The last thought that I had was how  should I cover mainstream country music from henceforth. I understand that a few decent artists have had some success recently but the overwhelming majority of the mainstream music is just so horrible. With country radio more and more not sounding anything like country music and with the quality at an all time low, I have questioned whether or not it’s worth covering as much as I do. I wonder if there is value in that part of the genre even being discussed at this point. I’m not sure that I have the answer to this yet and my thoughts will surely continue to evolve. Anyway, if you made it this far in my little ramble thank you and I hope to have some new posts coming shortly. This week I am going to continue thinking about how I would like to do things going forward. By the way the title of this was absolutely a reference to the Luke Bell song.

6 thoughts on “Where Ya Been?

  1. ah, I thought hayes carll at first, but like the luke bell reference too! enjoy the blog and the collab pieces : )

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I actually enjoy the mainstream discussion on this blog probably the most, and I think there is a real need for it because it seems to be disappearing off the radar of many blogs for the same reasons you mentioned. Having said that, you have to do what makes you passionate, and be yourself.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hey man, hope everything in your personal life works out alright. Trust me, there’s times you hit rough patches. You just gotta keep going and get through them. To quote a song, “every storm runs out of rain”. Anyway, in terms of being yourself, it’s always been my philosophy that your voice that you lend to your pieces will be what sets you apart, but you’ve got to do what’s best for you man!

    As for mainstream coverage, I have to agree with Megan. Criticism is a dying art form, and we need more of it in the blogosphere…moreover, just because it’s not mainstream doesn’t mean it will be worth your time or totally perfect. That’s just my two cents though.

    Take care, man!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Props for the Luke Bell reference! I do think some bloggers “burn out” when they assign themselves too much structure. Just do what you enjoy, and it’s not really work.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I think the blog is great! I actually really enjoy the mainstream discussions, as they seem to generate much conversation, and everyone seems to have differing opinions and perspectives about it.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

