Re-Charting The Chart

Every week we will take a look at the top 30 Mediabase Country Chart. We will re-rank the songs on the chart based on the quality and overall enjoyment of each song. Next to each song I will provide the ranking that we would give it and the actual ranking on the Mediabase chart in parenthesis (From America’s Music Charts). Songs that are in the color red are songs that are either recurrent or in danger of going recurrent soon, while blue is for songs that I predict will go to number 1 at some point. At the end of each ranking there will be some thoughts about the current chart as well as any news or updates that are deemed important. I hope everyone enjoys this weekly post and feel free to comment/agree/disagree with anything you see.

This is from last week. It failed to post not sure why but here it is.

  1. Zac Brown Band “My Old Man” (16) up 3 A
  2. Midland “Drinkin’ Problem” (14) up 3 A-
  3. Drake White “Makin’ Me Look Good Again” (30) down 2 B+
  4. Maren Morris “I Could Use a Love Song” (29) up 1 B+
  5. Carly Pearce “Every Little Thing” (28) up 3 B+
  6. Old Dominion “No Such Thing As a Broken Heart” (17) up 4 B
  7. Brothers Osborne “It Ain’t My Fault” (21) up 2 B
  8. Darius Rucker “If I Told You” (4) up 1 B
  9. Dan and Shay “How Not To” (5) up 2 
  10. Luke Combs “Hurricane” (3) down 2 C
  11. Kip Moore “More Girls Like You” (23) up 2 C
  12. Brett Eldredge “Somethin’ I’m Good At” (25) up 1 C
  13. Justin Moore “Somebody Else Will” (15) up 3 C-
  14. Tim Mcgraw & Faith Hill “Speak to a Girl” (18) up 2 C-
  15. Billy Currington “Do I Make You Wanna” (20) up 2 C-
  16. Blake Shelton “Every Time I Hear That Song” (7) up 2 C-
  17. Rascal Flatts “Yours If You Want It” (10) up 1 C-
  18. Brett Young “In Case You Didn’t Know” (2) no change C-
  19. Cole Swindell & Sellout “Flatliner” (13) up 3 D
  20. Dylan Scott “My Girl” (8) up 4 D
  21. Dustin Lynch “Small Town Boy” (26) up 1 D-
  22. LoTalent “Ring on Every Finger” (27) up 2 D-
  23. Thomas Rhett & Maren Morris  “Craving You”  (9) up 5 D- 
  24. Keith Urban & Carrie Underwood “The Fighter” (11) up 2 F
  25. Kelsea Ballerini “Yeah Boy” (24) down 14 F
  26. Dierks Bentley “Black” (1) up 2 F
  27. Lady Antebellum “You Look Good” (12) up 3 F
  28. Chris Lane “For Her” (22) up 2 F
  29. Brantley Gilbert “The Weekend” (19) down 12 F
  30. Florida Georgia Line & Another Boy Band “Boy Band’s Are Lit” (6) up 2 F

New To The Top 30: “Every Little Thing.” Carly Pearce is IHeart’s new On The Verge pick. I was first introduced to her when she appeared on Josh Abbott’s single “Wasn’t That Drunk.” From what I have read she has had a long difficult road getting a record deal with Big Machine. This song in particular is pretty good and tows the line between country and r&b without crossing it. I am fearful for what path she will go down after this inevitably reaches number one. Will she go in the r&b direction or more traditional?

Songs That Left The Top 30: “Body Like a Backroad.” I think I have made my feelings about this song pretty clear.

Songs In Danger: “The Weekend”

“Yeah Boy”

“Yours If You Want It”

“Hurricane”

“Black”

Quick Thoughts: “My Old Man” jumped 3 spots this week. There are a number of songs in front of this that could fall off the chart in the coming weeks so I continue to stand by my prediction of number 1. Brett Eldredge however continues a slow climb.

Leave a Reply

