First Impressions

Hello everyone! It’s been quite awhile since I wrote anything for this blog but if after all this time your reading this I do appreciate it. There were some things going on in my life this summer that didn’t allow me to write consistently which is why a stepped away for a few months. I hope to be able to write a few posts a week from here on out and this is the new feature that I thought I would start with. First impressions is going to be basically a short reaction to recent song releases. It will be a way of learning about new stuff that was released as well as getting a brief summary of whether or not it’s worth your time. I will have only listened to the songs one time before writing my thoughts so my opinions could absolutely change with time. Hope you enjoy and thanks for coming back!

“Lions” Chase Rice: An extremely weird song that would sound more at home on an alternative rock album. Not horrible I guess but certainly not country.

“I’ll Name The Dogs” Blake Shelton: The new Blake Shelton song isn’t horrible and I can tell what genre it is! Just drop the moronic oohs and aahs.

“Who’s Your Farmer” Chris Janson: Generic, pandering, bullshit. Remember “Holdin’ Her?”

“I Wish You Were Beer” Dustin Lynch: Listen to Adele’s song “Send My Love” and tell me this doesn’t sound like a ripoff of that. The song is garbage.

“Better to My Baby” Whitney Rose: If you like real country music look no further than Whitney Rose. Another great song from the Canadian born artist.

“A Little Pain” Margo Price: In a just world this would be a hit on the radio. A song with decent tempo and something to say… Oh by the way it’s classic country.

“Sleepin’ With The Reaper” The Grascals: Review coming soon but I couldn’t wait. Possibly my favorite song of 2017 any genre.

 

6 thoughts on “First Impressions

  1. Welcome back Alex!! 🙂

    I love this idea.

    The only ones I have heard are the Blake Shelton and Margo Price songs. Margo’s is unsurprisingly excellent, and Blake’s is surprisingly decent. But I don’t like the oohs and aahs in Blake’s. It’s his best song in a while though.

    I will steer clear of Dustin Lynch and Chris Janson. Whatever happened to Holdin’ Her and Cowboys and Angels. I’ll have to listen to the Whitney Rose song, she’s really good. And I’ve gotta hear that Chase Rice song. Something other than bro-country? I’m curious.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Amanda I appreciate it! Honestly I like Three Cords and the Truth and If I’m bein Honest and I think I’ll generally enjoy his new album but this song is just odd. It really reminded me of an alt rock sound although I only heard it one time. And yes steer clear of anything Dustin Lynch or Chris Janson. They rnt worth ur time

      Like

      • I enjoyed If I’m Bein’ Honest.

        It makes me sad for thinking Dustin and Chris could both be sonething really special. Dustin has an amazing voice. I really loved both Better I Don’t and Holdin’ Her from Chris. They are both really talented. It’s a damn shame they have to waste their potential to chase trends.

        Like

      • I enjoyed If I’m Bein’ Honest.

        It makes me sad for thinking Dustin and Chris could both be something really special. Dustin has an amazing voice. I really loved both Better I Don’t and Holdin’ Her from Chris. They are both really talented. It’s a damn shame they have to waste their potential to chase trends.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

